Bafana Bafana coach announces strong squad to face Swaziland

BAFANA Bafana coach Gordon Igesund has announced a strong 24-man squad to face Swaziland in an international friendly match on November 15 at the National Stadium

in the Swazi capital of Mbabane. The match is scheduled to kick off at 8.30pm

All the players selected for this encounter are local-based as this is part of the preparations for the upcoming CAF CHAN tournament that begins in January next year.

“This is the first game that we will play in preparation for the CHAN tournament and its very important for us to get the rhythm going in the team, because these are some of the players that will play in that event. It is as very formidable team and we have a pool of about 38 players who are all fighting to make the final 23 players for the tournament, so is it is very exciting and the match against Swaziland will be a good test for us,” said Igesund.

“It is also good to have all the Orlando Pirates players available after missing out due to CAF commitments.”

The squad assembles on November 11 before departing for Swaziland the next morning.

Bafana Bafana return to South Africa on Saturday, 16 November to prepare for a friendly match against World and European Champions Spain. The match against Spain takes place at FNB Stadium on November 19 and kick-off is at 9pm.




Goalkeepers:  Senzo MEYIWA (Orlando Pirates), Ronwen WILLIAMS (SuperSport United),


Defenders: Thabo NTHETE (Bloemfontein Celtic), Tshepo GUMEDE (Platinum Stars),

Tefo MASHAMAITE (Kaizer Chiefs), Buhle MKHWANAZI (Tuks FC), Rooi MAHAMUTSA (Pirates FC), Tsepo MASILELA (Chiefs), Thabo MATLABA (Pirates), Happy JELE (Pirates),

MIDFIELDERS: Andile JALI (Pirates), Hlompho KEKANA (Mamelodi Sundowns), Oupa MANYISA (Pirates), Reneilwe LETSHOLONYANE (Chiefs), Bongani ZUNGU (Sundowns), Sibusiso VILAKAZI (Bidvest Wits), Lerato CHABANGU (Moroka Swallows), Daine KLATE (Pirates), Thuso PHALA (SuperSsport), Siphiwe TSHABALALA (Chiefs)


Strikers: Lennox BACELA (Pirates), Kermit ERASMUS (Pirates), Bernard PARKER (Chiefs) and Edward MANQELE (Swallows)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.