Chiefs and Dikwena dominate PSL Award Nominees

THE six nominations for Footballer of the Season and Absa Premiership Players’ Player of the Year are split evenly between Kaizer Chiefs and Platinum Stars.

AmaKhosi were crowned as league champions, while Stars finished in seconds spot, just one point behind. profiles the six nominees ahead of the 2012/ 2013 PSL Awards evening.


Thuso Phala (Platinum Stars)

Phala played a huge role in Stars’ success this season. The 26-year-old is reaching the peak of his career and has been outstanding down the right flank, his strong physique and pace making him a big threat to any defence.

Phala’s performances also won over Bafana Bafana coach Gordon Igesund, who has regularly praised the player, who went on to star for the national team at the African Cup of Nations.

Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)

Khune is rated as Africa’s best goal keeper by his coach Stuart Baxter. The shot-stopper barely put a foot wrong this season . The 25-year-old already has considerable experience under his belt and seems to be getting better each year as he fine tunes his game and grows in maturity.

Robert Ng’ambi (Platinum Stars)

Ng’ambi had a fine season for Dikwena, living up to and even exceeding the vast potential he showed during his days at Black Leopards. The attacking midfielder is a skilful and unpredictable player, his spark and creativity a major asset to Cavin Johnson’s team. He weighed in with seven goals from 27 matches in the Absa Premiership.


Absa Premiership Players’ Player of the Season – R150 000

Thuso Phala (Platinum Stars)

Phala has featured in 26 league games this season, netting six goals and providing numerous assists. The former Kaizer Chiefs and Mamelodi Sundowns player has added maturity and composure to his game and more often than not picks out a team-mate with his dangerous crosses.

Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)

Khune’s form between the sticks has been phenomenal this season. He played in all of Chiefs’ league games, bar one, helping his side to keep the meanest defence in the Absa Premiership – AmaKhosi conceded just 21 goals in the PSL.

Now seen as one of the team’s senior players despite his tender years, Khune showed his leadership skills by captaining the side to the championship, while always providing motivation and organisation on the field.

Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs)

Parker finished the season on 12 goals, just one shy of leading marksman Katlego Mashego.

His second season with Chiefs was a highly successful one, playing in 27 league matches. Some of Parker’s goals were sublime, whether off his left or right foot, from set play or open play.

Parker’s intelligence created chances for team-mates, and his form also saw him reclaiming his spot as a regular starter for the national team.

Below are the rest of the award nominations, which will be profiling over the days ahead.

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season – R50 000

Senzo Meyiwa (Orlando Pirates)
Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)
Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season – R50 000

Tshepo Gumede (Platinum Stars)
Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)
Bongani Zungu (University of Pretoria)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season – R75 000

Cavin Johnson (Platinum Stars)
Clinton Larsen (Bloemfontein Celtic)
Stuart Baxter (Kaizer Chiefs)

Absa Premiership Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the Season – R50 000

Mor Diouf (SuperSport United)
Fikru Lemessa (Free State Stars)
Sifiso Myeni (Orlando Pirates)

Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer – R25 000

Katlego Mashego (Moroka Swallows)


Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament

Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)
Edwin Gyimah (SuperSport United)
Walter Maponyane (United FC)

Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament

Edwin Gyimah (SuperSport United)
Tshepo Gumede (Platinum Stars)
Siyabulela Shai (United FC)


Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament

Joel Mogorosi (Bloemfontein Celtic)
Ruzigh Gamaldien (Bloemfontein Celtic)
Thabo Ntethe (Bloemfontein Celtic)


MTN8 Last Man Standing

Bennett Chenene (Moroka Swallows)
Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows)
George Nergadzi (Moroka Swallows)


Referee of the Season – R50 000

Lwandile Mfiki
Victor Gomes
Robert Smith

Ass Referee of the Season – R40 000

Lindikhaya Bolo
Zakhele Siwela
Enoch Molefe


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.