Chiefs officially declared Absa Premiership champs

THE Premier Soccer League (PSL) Acting CEO, Cambridge Mokanyane has tonight congratulated 2012/13 Absa Premiership champions, Kaizer Chiefs.

Amakhosi reclaimed the Absa Premiership Trophy on Wednesday night in Polokwane following their 1-1 draw against SuperSport United at the Peter Mokaba Stadium.

With 57 points, Kaizer Chiefs were declared Absa Premiership winners with a game to spare. The last time Kaizer Chiefs won the championship was back in the 2004/05 season. Chiefs walk away with the R10 million in prize money.

Mokanyane said: “I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate Kaizer Chiefs management, club chairman Mr Motaung, their coach Stuart Baxter, captain Itumeleng Khune, the players and the club supporters following their success in the Absa Premiership this season.

Kaizer Chiefs have played entertaining and beautiful football this season and this victory is well deserved. The fact that Chiefs led the race from day one is commendable and indicative of the work they have done this season.”

Above the R10 million prize money, Chiefs have also bagged R3 million this season for winning Q-1 and Q-3 respectively (R1, 5m per Quarter).

Mokanyane applauded all the teams that pushed Kaizer Chiefs to the final hurdle of the Absa Premiership championship race. “I would also like to make special mention of Platinum Stars and Orlando Pirates who made this title race interesting,” he said.

The PSL ACEO also reconfirmed that the Absa Premiership Trophy will be handed to Kaizer Chiefs at their last fixture of the 2012/13 season on 18 May 2013 at Mbombela Stadium.-Backpage TXT


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.