Chiefs rule the roost at Telkom awards

Amakhosi who are the 2010 defending champs of the Telkom Knockout, saw most of the team regulars walking away with awards accompanied by hefty cheques.


Itumeleng Khune, pocketed R100, 000 after beating Moeneeb Joseph (Pirates) and Shu-Aib Walters (Maritzburg United) in the Goalkeeper of the Tournament category.


For the Defender of the Tournament, Jimmy Tau and Chiefs skipper, who is busy with examinations, scooped a whopping R100, 000 after being nominated against Santos defender Wayne Arendse, and Rooi Mahamutsa and Lucky Lekgwathi both Pirates.


Midfielder of the Tournament category award went to Amakhosi’s Reneilwe “Ye-Ye” Letsholonyane, this is after being pitted against Andile Jali and Daine Klate (Pirates). He was also rewarded with R100, 000 for his effort.


The Top Goal Scorer which carries R150 000 was frozen due to that fact that none of the players’ scored a minimum of five goals. However, the judges will reward the player who impressed during the tourney with R100, 000.


Chiefs’ deadly striker Knowledge Musona took the Best Striker category and R100, 000 after beating his teammate Sthembiso Ngcobo, Malawian Chiukepo Msowoya and Nigerian Ezenwa Otorogu both from Pirates.


Chiefs’s players dedicated their awards to teammate S’phiwe “Ntho Tse Monate” Tshabalala who lost his mother this week due to ill-health.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.