Classy new trophy unveiled at Absa Premiership season launch

The 2010/2011 Absa Premiership season promises to take PSL football to new heights with the launch of an elegant new Absa Premiership trophy being one of the latest elements that is sure to spice up the race for the Number 1 prize in South African football, as the 16 top flight team vie to be the first to lift the new designer silverware.Unveiled at a glittering function at the appropriately selected Maropeng – the Cradle of Humankind venue, where the theme of the function made reference to the evolution of football and hence the evolution of the Absa Premiership trophy, the classy new cup is sure to capture the attention of teams and fans alike.


After clinching three consecutive league titles, Supersport United have taken ownership of the previous Absa Premiership trophy and Absa found this to be an opportune time to produce a brand new piece of silverware. The new pure sterling silver trophy weighs in at seven kilograms and stands at a height of 66 centimetres and 43 centimetres (at the handles) in width. The UK based company, Thomas Lyte which produced the new Absa Premiership trophy guarantees that each trophy they craft is unique in its own way, having made the Rugby World Cup trophy – Webb Ellis Cup, ATP World Tour Finals – Singles Trophy, the European Open Golf Trophy, the Ryder Cup and the FA Cup – to name a few. As the company that designed and created trophies for major international sporting events, Absa felt that Thomas Lyte were the right company to make a trophy that represents the stature of the Absa Premiership, and is in line with the prestige that Absa and the PSL are looking to add to South African Football.


After a gruelling four-month design and production process, which was overseen by silversmith Michael Wellsman who was also involved in the making of the Barclays Premiership Trophy, the Absa Premiership trophy arrived in South Africa in December 2009, where it has been safely locked away at Absa’s Head Office awaiting its first kiss of the African sun.


“The new trophy represents our excitement about the new era of football. Through the Absa Premiership we continue to provide the platform to develop and polish the finest soccer talent we have,” says Happy Ntshingila, Absa Chief Marketing & Communication Officer. We are looking forward to a competitive and spectacular season.”With the recently staged 2010 FIFA World Cup™ having won over many more fans, football enthusiasts will get their chance to see the new Absa Premiership trophy when Absa parades it during a Trophy Tour visiting all major cities, starting in Cape Town during the week of August 23.


The start of the Trophy Tour will coincide with the first ‘Friday Night Football’ matches, when the world class Cape Town Stadium hosts double-header Absa Premiership action between top flight newcomers Vasco da Gama and Orlando Pirates, followed by Ajax Cape Town taking on Bloemfontein Celtic on 27 August.“The Absa Premiership has certainly taken on dynamic proportions as the PSL’s signature competition over the last three seasons,” commented PSL CEO, Kjetil Siem.


“With SuperSport United capturing the Premiership title three seasons in a row, today marks a new chapter in the history of the Absa Premiership as the new trophy presents a perfect opportunity to re-position the Absa Premiership League as the premier sporting property in South Africa,” added Siem.The Absa Premiership Man of the Match award has also been elevated in status with the selected star player from each match to collect a Pre-Paid Debit Card worth R1000, totalling more than R100 000 in Man of the Match prizes for the season.Absa will continue with the Absa Premiership Player of the Month award with the deserving winners collecting R10 000 and an Absa Premiership Player of the Month Trophy for their efforts. This season the Absa Premiership Coach of the Month not only walks away with trophy but will now also receive R10 000 compliments of Absa, for their hard work at making the Absa Premiership one of the top leagues in Africa. These awards will be decided by a panel of media and former South African football players, comprising a chairperson and five rotating judges.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.