Coaching Clinic introduced into the 2011 Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Cricket Week


THE players participating in the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Cricket week in Cape Town this week will take time off on Sunday, to direct coaching clinics in various previously disadvantages areas.  The objective is to inspire the youngsters to continue to play the sport and to educate them on the importance of living a healthy lifestyle, which forms part of Coca-Cola’s ‘Live for a Difference’ campaign.

At each of the eight identified Cricket Clubs around Cape Town, 80 youngsters between the ages of 10 and 15 will be coached by the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Cricketers under the watchful eye of  the Head Coaches of each Club.

“Youngsters at this age are exposed to a number of sporting codes at school and by meeting the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Cricket players, many of whom are destined to become professionals, we want to encourage them to continue to play cricket, and who knows, one day some of them will participate in a Coca-Cola Cricket Week,” said Craig van Niekerk, Marketing Asset Manager Coca-Cola South Africa.

Cricketers that are products of one of the areas being visited include Vernon Philander (Tygerberg) and J.P. Dominy (Mitchell’s Plain).

“Further, the Cricketers participating in the week are top players in their Province and have therefore been exposed to top coaching and in turn they will be transferring their knowledge to other aspiring Cricketers,” said van Niekerk.

The Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Cricket Weeks are not televised and therefore Cricket lovers are not exposed to development Cricket at its best and through this initiative, instead of just reaching the 300 or so players, Coca-Cola is getting to a further 640. “At Coca-Cola, we recognise that the future will be shaped by today’s youth. Accordingly, we give special attention to providing opportunities to these youths and in this instant it is through Cricket,” explained van Niekerk.

The day starts at 11am.  There will be four stations:  batting, bowling, fielding and wicket keeping, and the players will be divided up and get a turn at all four stations on a rotational basis.


Bonteheuwel CC                                              Gauteng and North West

Primrose CC                                                       Western Province and Boland

Khayelitsha CC                                  Eastern Province and Border

Langa CC                                                              KwaZulu Natal and KZN Midlands

Mitchell’s Plain CC                                           Northerns and Easterns

St Augustein CC                                                Griquas and Free State

Tygerberg CC                                                     Namibia and Mpumalanga

Helderberg CC                                   Limpopo and South West Districts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.