Future Champions Gauteng Internation tournament well on progress

TITLE holders Club Tijuana from Mexico and Brazil’s Clube Atletico Mineiro completed the semi-final line-up at the 2014 Future Champions Gauteng International Tournament on Wednesday as the final group stage matches were played at the Football Training Centre in Pimville, Soweto.

The duo joins South African side Mamelodi Sundowns and Congolese Academy CESD La Djiri in the final four after they booked their places on Tuesday.

With Thursday being a rest day from the football as the teams enjoy the culture and energy of the Gauteng Province, Friday’s semi-final line-up will see Club Tijuana tackle CESD La Djiri and Sundowns take on 2011 and 2012 winners Clube Atletico Mineiro.

Club Tijuana won top spot in their Group C after a 1-1 draw with Aspire Academy on Wednesday, a match in which the Mexican side’s Marco Vargas scored at both ends.

The other game in the group was awarded as a 3-0 walkover to South African school Sunward Park after Nigerian side Saki West were unable to take part in the tournament.

“The visa application process and further travel difficulties mean that Saki West have been unable to take part in the Future Champions Gauteng International Tournament as scheduled this year. Their place in the playoff stages will be taken by local side Bidvest Wits, who will play as a guest team,” said project director Ray Whelan. 

Clube Atletico Mineiro made it three wins from three in Group B to top their pool following a 1-0 success over Zambian side K-Stars. Bruno scored the only goal of the game.

Netherlands club ADO Den Haag edged SuperSport Tottenham Hotspur Academy 3-2 in the other match in the pool to take third spot in the pool, with Jan Verduijn (two) and Dennis van der Heijden on target for them. Athenkosi Dladla and Karabo Nkoana netted for the South Africans.

CESD La Djiri had already sealed top spot in Group A when they lost 2-1 to Canadian side Toronto FC, for who Luca Uccello netted twice to become joint top-scorer in the competition with three goals, a tally matched by Sundowns’ Lovers Malatsi.

Jomo Cosmos finished their pool campaign on a high when they defeated Chinese side Shandong Luneng 2-1 in the other match in the group. Khomotso Marebane and Kagiso Moshotetsi scored for the South Africans, while Tianci Bai netted for the Asian team.

Sundowns made it three wins from three games with another comprehensive success, defeating Indian side Royal Wahingdoh 3-0, thanks to goals from Notha Ngcobo, Mpumelelo Hlatshwayo and Tshepiso Mbongwa.

The Pretoria side finished the pool stage as the leading scorers with eight goals from their three games, conceding just one.

English team Sunderland AFC and a USYSA Select side from America ended in a 1-1 draw. Andrew Nelson scored for the Young Black Cats, while Connor DeFilippis was on target for the Americans.

After their day off on Thursday the teams will resume matches with the playoff rounds and semifinals on Friday.


Wednesday’s results:

Jomo Cosmos 2 (Khomotso Marebane, Kagiso Moshotetsi) Shandong Luneng 1 (Tianci Bai)

Mamelodi Sundowns 3 (Notha Ngcobo, Mpumelelo Hlatshwayo, Tshepiso Mbongwa) Royal Wahingdoh 0

Sunderland AFC 1 (Andrew Nelson) USYSA 1 (Connor DeFilippis) Club Tijuana 1 (Marco Vargas) Aspire Academy 1 (Marco Vargas og) Sunward Park 3 Saki West 0 – walkover

Clube Atletico Mineiro 1 (Bruno) K-Stars 0

SuperSport TH Academy 2 (Athenkosi Dladla, Karabo Nkoana) ADO Den Haag 3 (Jan Verduijn 2, Dennis van der Heijden) CESD La Djiri 1 (Yves Tchicaya) Toronto FC 2 (Luca Uccello 2)


Tournaments statistics:
Matches played: 21
Goals scored: 50
Biggest victory: Atletico Mineiro 5 SuperSport TH Academy 2 
Most goals in a game: 7 - Atletico Mineiro 5 SuperSport TH Academy 2
3 - Lovers Malatsi (Mamelodi Sundowns), Luca Uccello (Toronto FC) 2 - Patson Daka (K-Stars), Connor DeFilippis (USYSA), Michel Gafiny (CESD La Djiri), Mpumelelo Hlatshwayo (Mamelodi Sundowns), Keven (Atletico Mineiro), Khomotso Marebane (Jomo Cosmos), Dennis van der Heijden (ADO Den Haag), Jan Verduijn (ADO Den Haag) 1 - Adson (Atletico Mineiro), Sushil Ahongshangbam (Royal Wahingdoh), Tianci Bai (Shandong Luneng), Levy Berry (Sunward Park), Bruno (Atletico Mineiro), Cesar (Atletico Mineiro), Pu Chen (Shandong Luneng), Thabang Chuene (Mamelodi Sundowns), Athenkosi Dladla (SuperSport United), Flavino (Atletico Mineiro), Joao Victor (Atletico Mineiro), Li Liu (Shandong Luneng), Tshepiso
Mbongwa (Mamelodi Sundowns), Mthokozisi Mngadi (SuperSport United), Kagiso Moshtetsi (Jomo Cosmos), Thabelo Mulaudzi (SuperSport TH Academy), Enock Mwepu (K-Stars), Andrew Nelson (Sunderland), Notha Ngcobo (Mamelodi Sundowns), Karabo Nkoana (SuperSport TH Academy), Lionel Ondongo Opera (CESD La Djiri), Daniel Pybus (Sunderland AFC), Juan Rodriguez (Club Tijuana), Yves Tchicaya (CESD La Djiri), Kevin Timachy (Toronto FC), Marco Vargas (Club Tijuana), Brandon Vazquez (Club Tijuana)


1-own goal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.