Gauteng to see most of MTN 8's quarterfinal matches


THE province of Gauteng will be the centre of attraction for this year’s quarterfinals of the MTN 8.

This after the Premier Soccer League (PSL) confirmed that the Stadium of Orlando, FNB (both in the city of Johannesburg) and Lucas Moripe in Atteridgeville, Tshwane will be among four venues to be used for the opening matches of this competition. The fourth venue will be Cape Town Stadium in the Western Cape where the 2010/11 Absa Premiership’s league runners-up, Ajax Cape Town welcome SuperSport United next week Friday under the floodlights.

At Orlando Stadium, the reigning league champions, Orlando Pirates who are also the competition’s defending champions welcome another Cape side, Santos on Saturday, August 6 at 8.15pm with Mamelodi Sundowns taking on Bloemfontein Celtic at the Lucas Moripe Stadium earlier on at 3pm at the same day.

The quarterfinals of the competition will continue a day later (Sunday, August 7) at the FNB Stadium when Kaizer Chiefs host BidVest Wits at 3pm.

PSL executive committee (Exco) confirmed and approved an amendment to the rules of the MTN8 competition wherein it was decided that in the first round of the competition (last 8) the clubs finishing in the top four (4) positions of the Premier Division in the previous season will be the home clubs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.