Gordon Igesund Igesund names strong squad for Cosafa Cup

BAFANA Bafana head coach Gordon Igesund has announced a mainly youthful 20-man squad that will take part in the COSAFA Cup Zambia 2013 tournament to be held from July 6-21y.

The Bafana Bafana mentor said the main aim was to blood youngsters for the next AFCON 2015 andWorld Cup tournaments.

Orlando Pirates is the only team which the coach decided not to use their players as they will be preparing for a CAF Champions League match on July 21.

Igesund has given first time call-ups to players like Bloemfontein Celtic’s Ruzaigh Gameldien, Thabani Mthembu and Tshepo Gumede of Platinum Stars, Luyolo Nomandela of Free State Stars, Lebogang Manyama of Ajax Cape Town, Jabulani Shongwe of Mamelodi Sundowns and Ronwen Williams from Supersport United.

“We are preparing players for the 2015 AFCON in Morocco and 2018 World Cup in Russia, so we have to start now. We have also not called up overseas-based players.

“I think this is the cream of the crop of South African football, and if they are to start having the feel of the big stage, this is the time. These guys, if managed properly and continue to work hard, they could be the core of the team in the future. I am confident with players we have selected,” said Igesund.

“I also have my eye on other youngsters like Bongani Zungu of Tuks FC, Sibusiso Vilakazi of Bidvest Wits, Ayanda Patosi and Daylon Claasen who I have not called up. We have talent in abundance in this country.”

The squad assembles on July 10, and fly directly to Lusaka, Zambia for their training camp.

Bafana Bafana’s first match is on July 13.




1. Wayne SANDILANDS Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA) 
2. Ronwen WILLIAMS Supersport United FC (SA) DEFENDERS: ) 
3. Bevan FRANSMAN Supersport United FC (SA) ) 
4. Thabo NTHETHE Bloemfontein Celtics (SA) 5. Tefo MASHAMAITE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA) ) 
6. Eric MATHOHO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA) ) 
7. Thulani HLATSHWAYO Ajax Cape Town FC (SA) ) 
8. Tebogo LANGERMAN Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA) ) 
9. Tshepo GUMEDE Platinum Stars FC (SA)


10. Reneilwe LETSHOLONYANE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA) ) 
11. Siphiwe TSHABALALA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA) ) 
12. Hlompho KEKANA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA) ) 
13. Lebogang MANYAMA Ajax Cape Town FC (SA) ) 
14. Luyolo NOMANDELA Free State Stars FC (SA) ) 
15. Jabulani SHONGWE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA) ) 
16. Ruzaigh GAMILDIEN Bloemfontein Celtics FC (SA)


17. Katlego MASHEGO Moroka Swallows FC (SA) ) 
18. Kermit ERASMUS Supersport United FC (SA) ) 
19. Bernard PARKER Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA) ) 
20. Thabani MTHEMBU Platinum Stars FC (SA)-www.supersport.com 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.