Jordaan is Safa's new fourth vice president

The South African Football Association (Safa) has completed the elections of additional members to the National Executive Committee (NEC) at the Annual General Meeting (AGM). The Elections were conducted by electoral officer Terry Tselane from the Independent Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC). This took place on Saturday, December 4 at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg.

The elections were a result of the Resolution taken at the SAFA Special General Meeting on the June 3 regarding the additional member to the NEC. Dr Danny Jordaan was elected unopposed as the fourth vice president of Safa.

There are four additional members to the National list:

 1. Eric Mtshatsha  (KwaZulu-Natal)

2. Abel Rakoma (Limpopo)

3. Poobalan Govindasamy (KwaZulu-Natal)

4. Morris Tshabalala (Western Cape)                       

The follow were elected into the Provincial list:

 1.      Mzimkhulu Ndlelo (unopposed, Eastern Cape)

2.      Gerald Don (unopposed, Western Cape)

3.      David Zulu Ntinti (unopposed, Mpumalanga

4.      Vincent Tseka (unopposed, Free State)

5.      Nkone Paseka   (North West)

6.      Thivhonali Khorommbi Nemavhola (Limpopo)

7.      Anthony Reeves (Gauteng)

8.      Theodore Khupe  (Northern Cape)

9.      Jeremiah Mdlalose (KwaZulu-Natal)


“We welcome you, we are looking to working with you to ensure our football moves forward. A year has gone by since we assumed office so we are optimistic that you will learn the ropes as quickly as you can so we can get down with the business of running football. There are a lot of expectations from  our members and I trust you will help us to make a difference, welcome and enjoy your stay,” said South African Football Association President Kirsten Nematandani in welcoming the new members to the office.

 Other key Resolutions adopted by the General Council are:

           the increase of annual grants for the SAFA regions from two-hundred-and-fifty-thousand rand (R250000) to three-hundred-thousand-rand (R300000). This matter will be reviewed in April 2011 to see if it can increased even further

          KPMG has been appointed as the auditing firm for the Association, replacing Delloite & Touche following the recommendation by the General Council in last year’s AGM.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.