KwaZulu-Natal are Safa Under-17 champions


KWAZULU-NATAL lifted the 2010 Safa Under-17 Championships title after they beat Northern Cape 4-1 on penalties.

This exciting final which took place at the Eldorado Park outside Johannesburg saw both teams attacking from the first whistle to the last but neither of them managed to see the back of the net until it was decided on penalties.

The Northern Cape managed to score only one via Angelo van Rooi the goal scorer, while Charles Molelekane and Elroy Baardman missed their spot kicks. KZN won the title when Brendon Parusnath, Lizwi Dludla, Sizwe Mngadi and Dumisani Hadebe converted their spot kicks.

Chairman of the Safa Competitions Committee, Sam Masitenyane, presented the trophy to the winning team.

Earlier in the day, defending champions SASFA won bronze when they beat Western Cape 4-1 with individual awards going to KZN’s Nkelo Molobelo as the Player of the Tournament, Franco Haai (Goalkeeper of the Tournament, Northern Cape), Roos Masithela (Top goalscorer with eight goals, Sasfa), Nhlanhla Ngema (Coach of the Tournament, KZN), Elphas Kwinda (Assistant Referee of the Tournament) and Olandi Kwinda (Referee of the Tournament)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.