KZN promises Razzmatazz in the forthcoming Metropolitan U-16 Cup



THE Mayor of Durban, James Nxumalo has promised an unforgettable experience for both the players and spectators alike during the forthcoming Metropolitan SASFA Under-16 Cup.

This 18-schools annual tournament which marks its fourth edition in the hands of Metropolitan is scheduled to take place at the King Zwelithini Stadium in Umlazi, KwaZulu-Natal from October 3-6, and Nxumalo has since promised that they are ready to deliver a first-class show. The province will however be without the competative school, Umqhele who won the competition in 2009 after their failure to qualify for this year’s competition.

“We are delighted to be given this opportunity of hosting such a mega-development tournament in Metropolitan SASFA Under-16 Cup, and we can guarantee that a warm welcome awaits and we can’t wait to deliver our best,” promised Nxumalo

Nxumalo added that: “We have partnered with all the stake-holders such as SAFA-KwaZulu-Natal, department of education, E-Thekwini Metro and we are raring to go.”

SASFA president, Mandla “Shoes” Mazibuko said they are very encouraged by the high standard of football in this competition which will see each of the nine provinces being represented by two schools.

“With this kind of competition in this tournament, we can only be confident that the best of the best will be displayed this year and the players will be able to use this platform to market themselves to the new national U-20 team coach Shakes Mashaba,” pointed out Mazibuko.

Metropolitan’s brand executive, Belinda Faulkner said they have introduced the dot mobi site for the registration, which is first in school football.

All the participating 18 schools will be grouped in three groups of six, and each school in every group will play five matches.

The winning school will receive R50 000 which they will use for their school project plus a lucrative trip to the biennial International Soccer Federation Schools World Championships which will be held in France next year with the runners-up taking home R30 000 for a school project as well. In addition, all the participating schools will also receive R20 000 each as a participation fee.

The groups are as follows:

Group A: Steenberg (Western Cape), Siyahlomula (KZN), Tikontele, Matimba (both from MP), Setshaba se Maketse (Free State) and Hudson Ntsa’nwisi (Limpopo).

Group B: Johannesburg (Gauteng), Okiep (NC), Harmony (Free State), James Nxumalo (KZN), Freedom High (EC) and Rosina Sedibane-Modiba (Gauteng)

Group C: Kabelo (Limpopo), Freedom Park, Reabetswe (both NW), Phangalele, Robinvale (both EC) and Sternam Intermediate (NC).   



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.