Mamelodi to host Gauteng's Danone Nations Cup


GAUTENG will host the last 2012 Danone Nations Cup provincial final at the Central Grounds in Mamelodi this coming Saturday, kick-off at 9am.

The winner will join the other 8 provincial winners in the National Finals to determine the team that will represent South Africa at the 40-nations World Finals in Warsaw, Poland in September.

Defending Gauteng champions, Sapebuso Primary School, from Emzimhlophe in Orlando West, Soweto will be representing Johannesburg West.  Last year was the team’s first appearance in the competition and they managed to get all the way to the semifinals.

Sapebuso coach Bhekumuzi Kheswa admits that the Danone Nations Cup is the highlight of their sports calendar. “It gives our youngsters an experience of a lifetime. They get the opportunity to learn a lot in terms of different styles of playing football by competing with different schools from different areas. This will help them become skilful players in the near future,” he says.

Bhekumuzi singled out his goalkeeper Tebogo Mosetlhe as a key player. “He made brilliant saves in the regional games including three penalties in the regional final.

Newcomers, Tsosoloso Special School from Soshanguve in Tshwane North Region, are looking forward to the provincial finals.  “Our school was formed purely to accommodate abandoned and abused children so every youngster has experienced extreme hardship. I have really talented players and competing in a tournament of this magnitude will be an eye opener and will do the youngsters the world of good and build up their confidence,” said coach Mohapi Nkutshoeu.

Nkutshoeu will be looking to Michael Afrika, who scored the winning goal in the regional final to do the business for the team again, while midfielder Bobby Afrika, a great ball distributor, is another key player.

The schools participating in the Gauteng DanoneNations Cup finals today are:

Sunnyside Primary School (Gauteng North), Tsosoloso Special School (Tshwane North), Sapebuso Primary School (Johannesburg Wes), Ivory Park Primary School (Johannesburg East), FD Roosevelt Primary School (Johannesburg North), Qhoweng Primary School (Sedibeng West), Sonqoba Primary School (Ekurhuleni South), Benoni West Primary School (Ekurhuleni North).

The full list of qualifiers for the National finals so far is:

Mpumalanga – Chakaza Primary School                          

KwaZulu – Natal – Sinamuva Primary School                  

North West- Atamela Primary School                             

Limpopo- Kwahlele Primary School                 

Free State – Bochabela Primary School                           

Northern Cape – Keidebees

Western Cape – AH Barnard Primary School                 

Eastern Cape – Nkunzimbini Primary School



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.