Munghana Lonene FM Xitsonga Music Awards to take Nkowankowa by storm

ULUTATIONS, clapping of hands, punching of air…you name it, were the orders of the day during the launch of the 11th installment of Munghana Lonene fm Xitsonga music awards. This great initiative was first launched in 2002. Nominees were officially unveiled at the SABC headquarters in Auckland Park today. Artists will battle it out in 13 categories and the station will also hand over 4 special recognitions. The awards were officially launched by SABC Group Executive Radio Leslie Ntloko, Munghana Lonene fm station manager James Shikwambana and Mopani District Municipality Executive Mayor, Councilor Joshua Matlou. The official launch was attended by heavy weights in the music industry, SABC Group Executive, Government, Political and Business leaders.

All last year’s categories were retained and one more category has been added this year in the name of Best Xitsonga Collaboration. Best Xitsonga Dance category is renamed Best Xitsonga House.

This year’s awards will see South African music legend, Thomas Chauke receiving Greatest Xitsonga Musician of Our Times Award. It is for the first time in the history of music in the country for any musician to receive such accolade.

Stimela’s front man, Ray Chikapa Phiri will be honored with Companion of Xitsonga music award. Phiri will be honored for the role he played in the crafting of what is today referred to as Xitsonga Disco when he worked with the late Shangaan Disco King, Paul Ndlovu. Xitsonga music legend, General MD Shirinda will be honored with A Life Time Achievement Award. Shirinda has been in the music industry for more than 50 years and was the first Xitsonga musician to record an album and was also invited to be part of Paul Simon’s Graceland Tour in the 80’s. Another special recipient will be musician cum politician, Penny Penny who will receive the Living Legend Award, while Choral music conductor and composer, the late SJ Khosa completes a list of special recipients with a posthumous award. 

Top international Gospel group, Joyous Celebrations, have once again been nominated under Best Xitsonga Gospel Song Live recording category.  House music heavyweights, DJ Ganyane, Oskido, Mahoota v Vetkook, have been pitted against each other in the category Best Xitsonga House.

It remains to be seen if Joe Shirimane will be able to defend the Best Duo and Album of the year categories he won last year. Shirimane has 3 nominations.

There is no doubt that these awards are growing in leaps and bounds. There has been a huge demand from our listeners to be part of this experience and we have heeded that call. The awards will be opened to the public at a fee of only R60. Munghana Lonene fm is today counted amongst Top 10 Favourite National Radio brands and these awards have contributed towards that achievement. We are very proud as a radio station and we will continue to promote South African music”. Said Munghana Lonene fm station manager, James Shikwambana.

“We are in the final year of the 3 year contract signed in 2011 and negotiations for a new contract are on”. Said Mopani District Municipality Executive Mayor, Joshua Matlou.

“We are happy that our PBS radio stations continue to over deliver by exceeding the 40% local music delivery mandate. Munghana Lonene fm Xitsonga music awards concept is one of many initiatives at the SABC aimed at developing and supporting local talent”. Said Group Executive responsible for Radio, Leslie Ntloko.


Full Nomination list:


Music Awards Categories:

   Best New Comer

  1.   Best Gospel studio version
  2.   Best Gospel Live version
  3.   Best Disco
  4.   Best RNB/HIP HOP
  5.   Risimu ra Mindzumba ya Africa
  6.   Best House song
  7.   Best Duo/Group
  8.   Best Male
  9.   Best Female
  10.   Most popular song of the year
  11.   Best Album of the year
  12.   Best collaboration

 1.      Best Xitsonga Music Awards New Comer




      Colonel Mhlongo


      DJ General K


      Steven Shibambu



2.      Best Xitsonga Music Awards Gospel – Studio Version


      Kediboni Malatswane                         –           Lava tshembhaka Yehovha

      Basambilu Baloyi                    –           We Yehovha

      Meriam and God’s Mission    –           Xikwembu xa mihlolo

      Charlotte Simango                  –           Hi humakule na Yesu

      In Zion of Christ                      –           Mintirho

      Lawrence Ndlovu                    –           Ndzilo wa valala

      Eric Manganyi                         –           Mahlomulweni

      Mahungu                                 –           Yehova Xikwembu


3.      Best Xitsonga Music Awards Gospel – Live Version


      Restoration of Praise              –           Yehovha Xikwembu

      Worship House                                    –           Pfumela Yeso a nghenelela

      SBU                                          –           Hikutwanana

      Remember M                                     –           Jehovha

      Pastor Rudolf                          –           Yesu la ndzi rhandzaka

 4.      Best Xitsonga Music Awards Disco

           Colonel Mhlongo                    –           Vomandzendze

      Foster Teanet                          –           Mali

      Ntombi Marhumbini               –           Ndzi rila Mali

      Majombhani                           –           Xibalesa xa ndlala

      King Soshangane                     –           Chumayelani

      T Makondo                              –           Dyondza xikolo


5.      Best Xitsonga Music Awards RnB/Hip Hop

       Cloretta                                   –           Kokwana

      Nolha                                       –           Vutomi

      Mash                                       –           Ndzirhandza wena

      Mocah                                                 –           N’wa Mzamani

      Clive-S                                                 –           Vutomi bya tika

      Mu-Africa                                –           Mukon’wani

      Gali                                          –           Swiganga

 6.      Best Xitsonga Music Awards Risimu ra Mindzhumba ya Africa

       Mario Chauke                                     –           Hleketa ka mbirhi

      African Stars                           –           Monika

      Amos Ngomani                                   –           Khazamula

 7.      Best Xitsonga Music Awards House Song

       DJ Gammi Ft. DJ Nascent          –         Tlevhu

      DJ Ganyani                                –         Xigubu

      DJ General K                             –         Mbhazima

      DJ Vetkuk vs Mahoota Ft. Candy –      Xikukwani

      DJ Letlaka                                  –         Xigago

      DJ Brian                                     –         Bafikile

 8.      Best Xitsonga Music Awards Duo/Group

           Joe Shirimane na Vana va Ndoda

      Swibi swa Ndhuma

      Bernard Mokgalaka na Nghunghwa Sisters

      Wiskee Mathebula na Hlayisani Sisters

      Snombelani Sisters

 9.      Best Xitsonga Music Awards Male Artist

       Prince Rhangani


      Benny Mayengani

      Doctor Sithole

      Giyani Hasani

      Msindo wa Pheni

      Forget Makhahlele

      Percy Mfana

      Comrade Xigevenga

      Dingaan David Mathebula

 10.  Best Xitsonga Music Awards Female Artist


      Lucy Shibambu

      Ntombi Marhumbini

      Rose Tshabalala

      Ntwanano n’wa Dan Shirinda

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.