Palace crushes the Brazilians as they defended their SASOL League national title


FOUR goals from striker Martha Mokoma allowed defending champions Palace Super Falcons to defeat Brazilian Ladies 6-0 in the final of the Sasol League National Championships held at the Seisa Ramabodu stadium in Mangaung, near Bloemfontein yesterday.


Mokoma – recently omitted from the Banyana Banyana squad which will travel to Harare, Zimbabwe this week for the Confederation of Southern African (COSAFA) Championships which start on July 2 – gave the national coaches food for thought as she collected the tournament’s top goal-scorer award, tallying 11 goals.


The Gauteng-based Palace Super Falcons were 3-0 at half-time thanks to a hat-trick scored by Mokoma, nicknamed ‘Gautrain’ because of her speed. The other two goals for Super Falcons were scored by Lindiwe Motau.


“It’s been a tough Sasol League season, but the fact that Palace Super Falcons could take on the best teams in SA and score 31 goals in six matches without conceding a single goal, is indicative of our players’ commitment and dedication shown over the past season,” said Palace Super Falcons coach Jabu Mabaso, who was also named as the ‘Coach of the Tournament’.


The Palace Super Falcons coach did his homework in finding a game plan to shut out Brazilian Ladies’ attacking Noko ‘Beep Beep’ Matlou.


Detroit Ladies, winners of the 2009 inaugural Sasol League and runners up to Palace Super Falcons in last year’s tournament played in Polokwane, claimed the bronze medal in beating Cape Town Roses 3-2 in the playoff for third place.


Cape Town Roses’ Sisipho Ntulo was named as the ‘Goalkeeper of the Tournament’, with Bloemfontein Celtics midfield star Sanah Mollo being voted as the ‘Queen’s Queen of the Tournament’ (Players’ Player of the Tournament). 


The most promising player of the tournament award, known as the ‘Young Queen of the Tournament’ went the way of Coastal United’s Asive Mqwala.

Palace Super Falcons’ midfielder Tina Selepe walked away with the Diski Queen of the Tournament award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.