Palace Super Falcons determined to keep the Sasol League National Championship title


DEFENDING National champions Palace Super Falcons have laid down the challenge and
the other eight provincial winners are not planning on standing back when this
year’s Sasol League National Championships take place in Mangaung, Bloemfontein,
starting on June 20.
With Banyana Banyana players in defender Janine van Wyk, midfielder Mamello
Makhabane and striker Martha Makoma in their side, the Rabie Ridge-based
title-holders will prove tough to beat, having lifted the national trophy in
thrilling fashion in Polokwane last year.
Their penalty shoot-out win over inaugural Sasol League National Champions Detroit
Ladies stunned the women’s football fraternity, but this time they will have to push
themselves even more with the challenge set to be even tougher.
Palace Super Falcons may be the Sasol Queens of Diski for the moment, but all of
Coastal Ladies (Eastern Cape), Bloemfontein Celtics (Free State), Durban Ladies
(KwaZulu Natal), Detroit Ladies (Mpumalanga), Royal Wizards ladies (Northern Cape),
Hallelujah Zebra Force (North West), Cape Town Roses (Western Cape) and Brazilians
FC (Limpopo) are in the hunt for the most coveted prize in women’s football.
With the teams set to playoff in inland and coastal groups, the showpiece grand
finale on June 26 will decide which of the provincial champions will carry the
mantle of No 1 women’s football club side in SA for the next 12 months.
SAFA: Chairperson: Women’s Football, Nomsa Mahlangu, said women’s football has
gained in popularity through Sasol’s sponsorship of the Sasol League, which is
played by 16 clubs in all nine provinces, plus Sasol’s sponsorship of the highly
successful Banyana Banyana.
“As SAFA, we are extremely grateful to Sasol for their continued commitment towards
ensuring a highly competitive Sasol League competition, with this talent filtering
through to all women’s national age group teams plus of course, Banyana Banyana,”
said Mahlangu.
“Last year’s Sasol League National Championships held in Polokwane proved that
women’s football is climbing the graph in terms of quality football and spectator
following, and I have no doubt that the crowds will once again be out to cheer the
teams on, when the tournament kicks off in Mangaung on June 20.”
Sasol: Manager: Sponsorships, Richard Hughes added: “Sasol is proud to be a sponsor
of the Sasol League which creates opportunities for women to participate in women’s
football across all communities of our football-loving country. Sasol is synonymous
with South African football and I believe that this year’s Sasol League National
Championships could well go down in the history books as being the best of the best
to date.”

The 2011 SASOL League 2011 National Championships draw:

Group A: Royal Wizard Ladies, Hallelijah Zebra Force, Bloemfontein Celtic, Brazilians FC and Palace Super falcons

Group B: Coastal United, Detroit Ladies, Durban Ladies and Cape Town Roses


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.