SA against Australia in home pool draw

THE Springbok Sevens will get an early chance to make amends for Saturday’s last-minute loss in the Dubai Plate Final against Australia when the two Southern Hemisphere rivals clash again on Friday in the pool stage of the eagerly awaited Nelson Mandela Bay South Africa Sevens in Port Elizabeth.

Hosts South Africa was drawn in Pool C with Australia, Canada and Kenya for round three of the HSBC Sevens World Series which takes place on 9-10 December in the new Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

The Springbok Sevens lost to Australia in the Dubai Plate decider after leading for almost the entire match, with Australia scoring the winning try after the siren has sounded to signal the end of the match. South Africa got the better of Australia on two occasions at the Gold Coast a fortnight ago and local supporters will be hoping that Cecil Afrika and his teams mates will quickly bounce back to form.

South Africa arrived yesterday at the Port Elizabeth Airport to participate in their home tournament.

As Dubai champions, England top pool A in South Africa and face a tough trio of matches against Dubai Cup semifinalists Argentina, Bowl runners-up USA and Shield winners Samoa.

France reached a first World Series Cup final since 2005 in Dubai. As Cup runners-up, they top Pool B in Port Elizabeth and will play pool matches on day one against reigning World Series and SA Sevens champions New Zealand, Dubai Bowl winners Scotland and African qualifiers Morocco.

Fiji head Pool D and will play Wales, Portugal and the remaining African side in the draw, Zimbabwe.

Following their win in Dubai, England climbed to second in the HSBC Sevens World Series standings, seven points behind Gold Coast champions Fiji.

The World Series Standings after round 2:

Fiji 39 points; 2. England 32; 3. South Africa, New Zealand, France 29; 6. Australia 28; 7. Argentina, Wales 23.

The pool draw for the Nelson Mandela Bay South Africa Sevens is:

Pool A
England, Argentina, USA, Samoa

Pool B
France, New Zealand, Scotland, Morocco

Pool C
South Africa, Australia, Canada, Kenya

Pool D
Fiji, Wales, Portugal, Zimbabwe

The confirmed training venues for the 16 teams are:

Argentina – Cille High School, Uitenhage Road, Sydwell

Australia – Framesby High School, Cornelia Avenue, Framesby

Canada – Gelvandale Stadium, Gelvandale

England – Westering High School, Papenskuil Street, Westerling

Fiji – Nelson Mandela Bay University, North Campus, Summerstrand

France – Pearson High School, Jenvy Road, Summerstrand

Kenya – Newton Technical High School, 92 First Avenue, Newton Park

New Zealand – Nelson Mandela Bay University, North Campus, Summerstrand

Portugal – Zwide Stadium, Tonjeni Street, Kwazakhele

Morocco – Newton Technical High School, 92 First Avenue, Newton Park

Samoa – Londt Park Sports Club, Ralston Road, Fernglen

Scotland – PE College, Kemsley Park, Mount Croix

South Africa – Victoria Park High School, Victoria Park Drive, Walmer

United States – Kemsley Park, Mount Croix

Wales – DF Malherbe High School, Walmer B-field

Zimbabwe – Nelson Mandela Bay University, Missionvale


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.