The stage is set for SA Sports Awards

The Department of Sport and Recreation held a breakfast to announce the nominees for the 2014 South African Sport Awards at the M1 Studios, SABC.

“I’m extremely proud of the men and women who have been nominated today as they have overcome great odds to be the best in their sporting codes. The SA Sport Awards aims to honour these men and women who fly our country’s flag high,” stated Minister of Sport and Recreation, Mr. Fikile Mbalula. 

The nominees are as follows: 


Administrator of the Year:

.         Karen Losch

.         Daan du Toit

.         Nokuzola Patience Thamae


Sportsman of the Year:

.         Chad Le Clos

.         Greg Minnaar

.         Khotso Mokoena

.         Cornel Fredericks


Sportsman of the Year with Disability:

.         Lucas Sithole

.         Ernst Francois Van Dyk

.         Nicolas Pieter du Preez


Sportswoman of the Year:

.         Sunette Viljoen

.         Mpho Madi

.         Ashleigh Moolman Pasio


Sportswoman of the Year with Disability:

.         Justine Asher

.         Kgothatso Montjane

.         Adri Visser


Team of the Year:

.         Springbok 7

.         Lawn Bowls

.         Under 19 Cricket


Newcomer of the Year:

.         Wayde van Niekerk

.         Gezelle Magermann

.         Revaldo Coetzeer


Coach of the Year:

.         Shakes Mashaba

.         Graham Hill

.         Neil Powell


Volunteer of the Year:

.         Beryl Campbell

.         Selwyn Jackson

.         Sandile Mqadi


Recreational Body of the Year:

.         Umthombo

.         Park Run

.         Sport for Social Change Network


Photographer of the Year:

.         Reg Caldecott

.         Duif Du Toit

.         Frennie Shivambu


Journalist of the Year:

.         Udo Carelse

.         Mathews  Mpete

.         Duane Dell’Oc a


Federation of the Year:

.         Triathlon South Africa

.         Rowing South Africa

.         Swimming South Africa


School Team of the Year:

.         Vorentoe High School

.         Harmony High School

.         Paarl Gimnasium Hoerskool


Indigenous Games Star of the Year

.         Inthonga – Kwa Zulu Natal

.         Drie Stokkies – North West

.         Ncuva – Limpopo


Developing School Team of the Year:

.         Astra

.         Fulton School for the Deaf Triathlon Team

.         Oudtshoorn School of Skills


Public voting for the Sports Star of the Year winner opens on October 15. To vote for your favourite Sports Star please SMS the keyword SPORTS followed by the letter indicating your selection to 34760 e.g. SPORTS D – if you would like to vote for Khotso Mokoena.


SA Sports Star of the Year Nominees:

A)        Ernst Van Dyk

B)        Chad Le Clos

C)        Portia Modise

D)        Khotso Mokoena

E)        AB De Villiers

F)         Duane Vermeulen



SMS cost R1.50 per entry. Prizes to be won. T&C’s apply, visit for detail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.