Safa hosts its third awards ceremony


The third edition of the South African Football Association (Safa) Awards will be staged on Friday, 3 December 2010 at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg.

This year’s Awards will pay tribute to the political and football leaders for having influenced the World’s Football Governing Body, FIFA, to grant South Africa the rights to host the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

There will be recipients of awards from various leagues under the SAFA Competitions. A fierce contest is expected amongst nominees in a number of categories including the Senior Men’s National Team (Bafana Bafana), the Senior Women’s National Team (Banyana Banyana) and the Young Footballer of the Year, just to mention but a few.

Safa CEO Leslie Sedibe says the Awards depict what the South African Football Association is all about: the governing body of football in the country that is constituted to promote, advance, administer and generally coordinate the game of football in South Africa in accordance with the principles as laid down in the statutes of FIFA.

“The Awards present an opportunity for the Association to recognize excellence in various disciplines of the beautiful game. The SAFA Awards are also viewed as a culmination and celebration of the many achievements and grand contributions made by individuals and institutions across the broad spectrum of our society. The 2010 SAFA Awards are very special because they happen just a few months after our country and Continent had successfully hosted the 2010 FIFA World Cup,” said Sedibe.

The 2010 SAFA Awards Categories are as follows:

Safa Awards 2010 Nominees

1. Player of the Year: Senior Men’s National Team (Bafana Bafana)

Simphiwe Tshabalala, Steven Pienaar, Bongani Khumalo

2. Player of the Year: Senior Women’s National Team (Banyana Banyana)

Janine van Wyk, Amanda Dlamini, Simphiwe Dludlu

3. Player of the Year: Under 17 Women’s National Team (Bantwana)

Robyn Moodaly, Rachel Sebati and Jermaine Seoposenwe

4. Youth Footballer of the Year

Thulani Serero, Ramahlwe Mphahlele and Andile Jali

5. Coach of the Year

Pitso Mosimane and Solly Luvhengo

There will also be recipients of Awards in the following categories:

1. Referees

2. Presidential Awards

3. LOC Board Members

4. Sponsors

5. Under 17 Women’s FIFA World Cup qualifying team

6. Supporters

7. Lifetime Achievers Award



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.