Sharks win second Currie Cup in three years

The Sharks have again reclaimed the 2010 Currie Cup championship after they beat Western Province 30-10 at the Absa stadium in Durban on Saturday, October 31.

The Natal based club outplayed the Cape side almost from the start, leading by 23-10 at halftime.

Man of the match, Patrick Lambie scored 25 points for the Sharks with two tries, three conversions and three penalties. Other tries were scored by Charl McLeod.

Meanwhile, Western Province captain, Schalk Burger, was the only player to cross the touchline for his team, with Willem de Waal’s conversion and penalty completing their score.

Sharks captain Stefan Terblanche was quoted saying: “People wrote us off at the start of the season and appropriately so after that first weekend loss against Griquas. I don’t care much for those who think less of us because if you look across the field, you will see a team that is determined and destined for greater hights.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.