Sudan dashes SA U-23 team’s Olympic Games dream

THE National Under-23 Men’s Team made a late rally but it was a question of too little too late as they failed to qualify for the All Africa Games.

Despite WINNING 1-0 in the second leg at Dobsonville Stadium on Saturday, they could not overturn a 2-0 deficit they suffered in Khartoum two weeks ago to bow out 2-1 on aggregate.

It was a disappointing end for the U2

Mission failed...Owen da Gama's hopes of leading SA Under-23 team to the Olympics gone up in smoke.

Mission failed…Owen da Gama’s hopes of leading SA Under-23 team to the Olympics gone up in smoke.

3 on which a lot was expected of them. They put tremendous pressure in the dying minutes of the second half and got the opening goal of the day but time was not on their side to add the all-important second goal.

The South Africans STARTED the match on a high keeping in mind that they had to score at least three goals to advance to All Africa Games. Many chances were created but poor finishing was the order of the day.

The first half ended goalless as both teams FAILED to create clear-cut chances.

Coach Owen Da Gama SENT on MENZI Masuku for Subusiso Mahlangu and the former made some telling runs and scored the only consolation goal of the day.

As the match went on, the Sudanese literally parked the bus at the back as the South Africans FAILED to unlock their backline.

Chance after chance went begging as the home team began to get desperate and the visitors grew in confidence.

Although Masuku got the late goal, time ran out and the Sudanese went through on aggregate.

South Africa: Ricardo Goss; Junior Sibande; Zitha Macheke; Motjeka Modisha, Kwanda Mngonyama (c); Ayabulela Magqwaka; Bafana Dlamini; Deolin Mekoa; Thapelo Morena; Sifiso Nkosi; Sibusiso Mahlangu

SUBSTITUTIONS: Lebo Ngubeni; Menzi Masuku; Tyroane Sandows; Abednigo Masiatlhaga; Andiswa Mtsila; Siphelele Luthuli; Mbongeni Gumede

Sudan: Ahmed Mohamed; Khalid El-Siddig (c); Walid Osman; Muatasim Mohamed; Ibahim Ibrahim; Ather Babikir; Ahmed Ahmed; Mahir Idriss; Mahmoud Mahmoud; Mohamed Fadi; Elshareef Ahmed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.