Sundowns stand on Ajax's way into breaking Hellenic's Metropolitan U-19 Premier Cup' six title record


At Erica Park, Cape Town

THE crazy football fans in Cape Town are in for an action-packed grand-finale of the Metropolitan Under-

19 Premier Cup when the defending champions take on Mamelodi Sundowns.

Kick-Off for this final match at the Erica Park in Belhar, Cape Town that is the Western Cape and Gauteng

affair will mark the closing of curtains for this 26th edition of the country’s prime competition.

The young Urban Warriors earned their ticket to this final match after their convincing 1-0 victory over

fellow Cape side, ASD Academy with an early first half goal by Justin Jacobus.

Ajax won the tournament last year, beating their five year drought of struggle to lay their hands to the

title. This after they overcame Berea Albion with a 5-4 victory on penalties after the match ended 2-all

draw on regulated time and extra-time. Before that explosive final match last year, the Cape side had

last won the tournament in 2008.

Mamelodi Sundowns who beat Old Mutual Academy 5-4 via penalties after the match ended goalless at

the regulated time plus extra time to book their ticket in this final will be looking forward to bag their

second title of this tournament after having lifted the silver-ware in 2009. In that final match Sundowns

lifted the title at the expense of the tournament’s all time record title holders, Hellenic  whom they beat

1-0 in 2009.

Ajax on the other hand will be looking forward to cancel Hellenic’ six a win record since the competition’s

inception back in 1989. The Urban Warriors has five wins and tomorrow’s final might just provide their

sixth title in their cabinet which will see them comfortably level with the Greek gods.

Hellenic’s glory years in this tournament was during its days when it was still hosted in Mitchells Plain

and it include winning it back to back five times in a row back in 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996 and 1997 before

they could be eluded by the title for four years and their last win and the first one at the current host

venue (Erica Park) was in 2002 when they registered their sixth title which also marked the end of the

dominance untill today.


As for Ajax, they Ekamva based side first won the tournament in 2001, then 2004, 2005, 2008 and 2013.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.